Creating the Dark Angel

Savers is *awesome* for costumes! I popped in the other day craft seeking a Tour de Fat outfit. In my heart I knew Savers would rock. They have rows and rows of Halloween costumes and accessories. (I went to the one on 35th Ave & W Bell.) Same stuff you might find in a Party City for much less.

Costume Shopping Galore!

Costume Shopping Galore!

Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 3.11.00 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 3.10.31 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 3.10.19 PM

Walking in I was greeted by Craig, “Hi! I’m the Costume Consultant. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do to help.”

He's not this serious in real life.

He’s not this serious in real life.

Mind you, Craig is a really, really tall beefy guy. So the first time he spoke I was thinking, “Em…W-h-a-t does this man want?” Then I saw the name badge and caught on. Craig is the bomb. I looooorved my “Dark Angel” outfit. + I got some compliments out of it.

It’s quite nice to walk up and down the available outfits, ordered by size, and plop them into your cart. There’s no writing down of numbers after squinting at a picture in a store, only to learn they are out of stock. Savers allows you to try on six items at a time.

Alas, I just wasn’t feeling it with any of the traditional costumes. A Minnie Mouse polka dot retro thing with black gloves was super cute tho. I had two main criteria: 1) can’t be too hot 2) should have some cleavage. (What? I’m single. Minnie had my collar bones covered.)

Hearing Craig’s deep voice boom over the loudspeaker, “Hi! This is Craig! Allow me to create a unique costume for you.” changed my mind. I asked some other gals for leads on black halter tops. They initially suggested the sleeveless aisle. When I added, “I’m looking for something inappropriate” they pointed me to lingerie. (I like they way the employees here think.)

If anyone is looking for Frederick’s of Hollywood merchandise they’ve got a big stash right now. (I’ll never look at myself the same again.) Given that I’d be riding my bike to the light rail I needed more coverage. Found an awesome dress with beads. Craig generously allowed me to try on my feather wings. (Shh!) And he suggested the type of accessories to glam the whole thing up with.

He’s also a really good listener. I didn’t want to look stupid. But somewhere between “cute” and “unique”. The guy had some solid ideas.

Without further ado…

Ready to roll!

Ready to roll!

Craig is the kind of guy you’d want as a bouncer. Sure, he’s stocky. But I witnessed him helping tiny humans shop for Superman get-ups. These kids also think Craig walks on water. I’d go there if you need some Halloween fun!

It's the sign that makes me short, right?

It’s the sign that makes me short, right?

And in case anyone is wondering what my shadow looked like….

Taking photos while riding is not recommended.

Taking photos while riding is not recommended.

In context wearing a Halloween costume with a bunch of other Tour de Fat people? Makes perfect sense. Riding your bike solo in the middle of the morning, past a freeway, stopping at red lights?

Hilarious. I completely understand why celebrities wear sunglasses. I didn’t care that I looked bat shit crazy yesterday. Or that people were slowing their cars down to take photos. I was a woman wearing red lipstick and shades.

Invincible.

(Maybe the costume had something to do with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

