Long Term Relationships

I finally understand why my parents are married.

Not to each other. To their home phone line. (Had your undivided attention didn’t I Carlos? 🙂

Older folks are loathe to change numbers for many reasons. Along with their social security number those digits flow without pause. Ask my parents for their mobile number?

Be prepared to wait.
When this child is filling out paperwork I add commentary.

“Best never to call. The voicemail hasn’t been cleaned out since … E-v-e-r.”

Space allowing I try to throw in a five foot one elbow.

“But Dad says to use his. Call mine instead.”

My Dad boiled it down to something endearingly simple.

“How will people know to call a new number?”

As folks age their roots often do not. My parents aren’t comfortable sending out email. There is the possibility we’d leave someone important out.

Having this conversation made me smile.

And so Optimum will continue to hold a silly monthly allowance 🙂

Leave a Reply

